A complete contrast

Foxes 1 Hartlepool 0, Saturday 27 September 2008

What a complete contrast to the Millwall match. Both teams determined to play proper football, and a joy to watch. Leicester deserved the victory and proved again that when they pass and move, they create chances. For once we had very few long balls; and so for most of the match the game flowed nicely. Hartlepool themselves must take some of the credit. They too wanted to play rather than foul their way through the game.

The early strike for Matt Oakley promised a possible goal feast. Sadly it was not to be, but we did see some penetrating runs from Dyer, and a solid performance by Chris Powell. The only player who didn’t seem quite that bothered was Howard, so no surprises there!

Despite Leicester being the better team, I still managed to give my nails a good bite. After all, history shows us that a one-nil lead is usually not good enough. But my anxiety was not necessary. The sun was shining, the fans were in good voice, and my motorbike was parked right outside the stadium.

In fact the only downside was the bloke who has started sitting in front of me. He clearly likes pies, and as a result, his seat strains under the excess weight (what I mean he is fat even for a pie eating football fan). This means I have even less leg room than normal due to him preferring to sit back in his seat. So my dilema is this: Do I tell him to sit forwards? Do I ignore him, or do I continue to give him the occasional accidental kick in the hope that he gets the message?

Leave a comment